From Cold Kernels to Kettle Corn in 5 Easy Minutes: Why I Love my Whirley-Pop

5 Jan

Perfect kettle corn, which is lightly sugared popcorn, is a wonderful treat. I like mine with a few spices. Caution, this popcorn is addicting! Here is the place for disclosures—to the best of my knowledge—no one at Whirley-Pop has ever heard of me, and I am receiving no money for writing this—although I would love it if someone wanted to pay me! Here is a link to Whirley-Pop, they cost about $25, and you will need one to make this tasty treat. The Whirley-Pop is also a great gift for families with young kids, or any popcorn lover.

http://www.popcornpopper.com/

FIRST:

My secret recipe:

salt, vanilla, sugar, cinnamon, cardamom, cloves

Mix together:

1 cup sugar

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. cloves

1 tsp. cardamom

1 tsp.vanilla

Stir together all ingredients and then sift to remove clumps. I suggest a sift with a spinning handle, this will save you from sore hands. The “Secret Recipe” can be made days in advance and stored in a plastic tub or clean jar. This is also a great topping for strawberries or toast. The longer the sugar sits the better it tastes, because the spices’ flavors meld together.

SECOND:

To make the delicious popcorn, you will need:

3 Tbs cooking Oil

½ cup popcorn

½ cup “Secret Recipe” sugar

If you have an electric stove, turn it on to medium heat while you get your ingredients out.

virgin coconut oil

Also, Instead of cooking oil, I used virgin or unrefined coconut oil. It adds a faint coconut flavor and smells like the beach when you open the jar. If you don’ like coconut, don’t use coconut oil. It is a solid, so I melt it in the microwave for about 30 seconds. It is also, a poly-unsaturated fat, one of the good ones.

Put the oil, popcorn, and “Secret Recipe” in your Whirley-Pop. Turn the handle at a slow constant pace. When the corn stops popping, after about 2 to 3 minutes, pour it onto your cookie sheet (I put parchment paper on mine) to cool, then into a bowl to serve.

Popcorn is a great movie night treat, and if your children are old enough and safe around the stove, they can even turn the handle for you. If you don’t like sweet popcorn, don’t add the “Secret Recipe,” just add salt and/or your favorite spices.

Lucky for us, Sarah’s first video didn’t work out, so we had to make a second batch, YUM! I still don’t know how to edit or post a video, but luckily my son is home. In exchange for some Kettle corn, he helped.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2MDMwOjXUzc&feature=g-upl&context=G25749f4AUAAAAAAAAAA

8 Responses to “From Cold Kernels to Kettle Corn in 5 Easy Minutes: Why I Love my Whirley-Pop”

  1. Kelly (allie's friend from work) January 6, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    this sounds amazing!!! i want allie to buy a whirley-pop and make this for me!!

    • amywombwell January 6, 2012 at 11:47 am #

      Thanks for stopping by, I’ll send Allie a big bag to share at work. It isn’t quite as good as fresh, but it’s the best I can do at a distance.

  2. Rebecca Stites Derrick January 6, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    I can attest that this is indeed the BEST POPCORN EVER!

    • amywombwell January 6, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

      This recipe is one of the reasons why I gave you the Whirley-Pop. The other is that it just so much fun. Love you, and hope your doing well.

  3. Sylvia January 15, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    Nice to read your blog

    • amywombwell January 18, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, I’ll try to keep my content interesting and fresh, sorry I took so long to reply, your kind note got caught in my spam filter.

      amy

  4. Tracy Floro January 16, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    Hi, I adore your blog. Is there something I can do to receive updates like a subscription or something? I am sorry I’m not familiar with RSS? http://www.ctctradeshows.com

    • amywombwell January 18, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by, You can either hit the follow button at the top of the page, which will link you to my RSS feed, (there is a post on that is you don’t know what one is), or there is a “follow this” email button on the right hand side of the page. Sorry I took so long to answer; we had a big storm yesterday which knocked out our electricity and internet.

      I will try to keep the content new and different, although this week is going to be a bit of a problem.

      Amy

Feel Free to Comment...

